A Disciple’s Journey

For the last four years, on the weekend following Labor Day, our parish has come together to make a Covenant with God.

This past September, our parish Stewardship Team decided to “mix it up” a little.  In the past, you were asked to think about your faith journey and then make a promise to God, write it on paper, and leave it under the altar as a clear sign of your covenant.

This year, you are encouraged to take the Self-Assessment that can be found both on the back page of today’s bulletin as well as here.  You are asked to take your time and discern your response to the statements.  If you are “doing it now”, mark “I am…”.  If you are willing to “give it your best effort”, mark “I will…”.

The assessment has been divided into three categories that mirror our parish’s Stewardship Theme:

 

Getting to Know…

                Each Other

                                Ourselves

                                                The Lord

What can you do this Lent (as a starting point) to make your journey with Christ, as His Disciple, more fruitful in your daily life and your eternal life?

For the next three weeks, I will be addressing each section of the Self-Study.

I pray that your Lenten Journey is a blessing to you.  Just remember that you will get out of it what you put into it.  Challenge yourself this year to do just one more thing that you didn’t do last year.

 

COMMUNAL PENANCE SERVICES (with Private Confessions) in Neighboring Parishes

Sunday, March 4 @ 4:00 p.m. at St. Thomas More, Oceanside

Monday, March 5 @ 7:00 p.m.at St. John, Encinitas

Tuesday, March 6 @ 1:00 & 7:00 p.m. at Mission San Luis Rey

Wednesday, March 7 @ 7:00 p.m. at St. Patrick, Carlsbad

Tuesday, March 13 @ 7:00 p.m. at Nativity, Rancho Santa Fe

Friday, March 16 @ 6:30 p.m.at St. Mary Star of the Sea, O’side

Tuesday, March 20 @ 12 noon at St. Francis, Vista

Tuesday, March 20 @ 6:30 p.m. in English, Spanish, Vietnamese at St. Francis, Vista

Wednesday, March 21 @ 7:00 p.m. at St. Elizabeth Seton, Carlsbad

Thursday, March 22 @ 6:30 p.m.at St. James, Solana Beach

Friday, March 23 @ 6:30 p.m. in Spanish at St. Mark, San Marcos

Monday, March 26 @ 6:30 p.m.at St. Mark, San Marcos

Tuesday, March 27 @ 6:00 p.m. at St. Peter, Fallbrook

Our parish will continue to hear private confessions every Saturday during Lent, beginning at 8:00 a.m.